As if we never said goodbye

Well, I have a job.

My job was put “at risk” of redundancy on 29th June. It took until 9th July for the guillotine to be set up, the old crones to gather with their knitting and the death knell to be rung on the job I thought was more secure than Alcatraz. I decided to take a month off. The last 3 or 4 months have been very tough at work – throw in a house move and a couple of shows and it’s been a busy and stressful time.

During my month off I registered with one recruitment agency. For the rest of the time I have got up late, watched a lot of daytime TV, sorted my new house out and visited the gym more times than I have probably done in the last 5 years.

As we moved into August I thought that I should probably accept that I’d had my “month off” and start looking for a job. Trouble is, we’re in a massive recession and there’s not a lot out there. Nice agency put me forward for a good contract role with a charity and they wanted to interview me. I set off for the interview, deciding to drive to Greenwich and the tube rather than getting the evil overground. Got to Greenwich, parked, paid, went to get a ticket … at which point I found that my purse had been stolen so I had no way of getting into town. Shameful.

Luckily the agency forgave me and put me forward for another job – and that is the job I will be starting in 2 weeks’ time. It’s not a million miles away from what I’ve done before, the people seem intelligent, friendly and outgoing and although it’s massively different to anything I’ve done before, who’s to say that’s a bad thing.

Now I need to buy myself a whole new corporate wardrobe – wibble.

Leave a comment

Filed under Job Hunting

Leave a Reply

