A sobering thought

Most years I don’t drink alcohol in January. It’s a chance to get over the excesses of the festive season and also a way to prove to myself and the world that I can still go 31 days without a drink. Straight away, that makes me sound like an alcoholic. I’m not. I just like a drink. Actually that’s a lie. I don’t like A drink. I like loads and loads and loads of drinks. I’ve never been the sort of girl who can go into a pub, have one glass of wine and then switch to soft drinks. I don’t see the point. It’s not just booze – why eat a handful of crisps when you can inhale the family pack? Why have one or two segments of a chocolate orange when you know that eventually you’ll eat the whole thing so why not do it now?

You get the general idea? I am a creature of excess.

This now probably gives the impression that I must look like a cross between Heather from Eastenders and Jabba the Hut. I don’t. My “binges” are few and far between and I’m perfectly capable of having crisps, booze and chocolate in the house for weeks – even months – without feeling remotely tempted to consume the lot in one huge mouthful.

This year I didn’t do my January off the booze. I did start the new year with all sorts of intentions of getting healthy, eating well, going to the gym, getting early nights. And not drinking much. Spending much of December with a chest infection rather curtailed my festive drinking, so I didn’t see the need for a complete break.

Unfortunately I’ve now remembered why it is that I can’t spend an evening in a pub without them running out of pinot. I’m a creature of excess, remember? So to succeed in getting healthy, I have to take the same “all or nothing” approach that applies to everything else I do. So, if I want to be healthy, to go to the gym, to eat properly and all that shizzle, I also have to quit the drink.

So, Fit February starts tomorrow. I have free booze on offer at work on Thursday but I can’t have any. I did contemplate starting on Friday and doing it until 4th March but Fit February and Maybe March isn’t what I’ve mentally signed up for. So, it’s soft drinks all round. And let’s see how self-righteous I am by the time we get to the end of the month and I’ve managed to sit in a pub or two without ordering shots.

Leave a comment

Filed under Booze, Fitness

Leave a Reply

